Return to Headlines

30 SHS Students Named National Merit Commended Students

The Syosset Central School District is pleased to announce that 30 Syosset High School seniors have been named Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.
Congratulations to Nikhil Bhatia, Abigail Blick, Christine Bocamazo, Jeffrey Bolnick, Elizabeth Chang, Patrick Chen, Annabelle Cheng, Ryan Clark, Hailey Edelman, Brett Fabregas, Azim Gangat, Leyla Hagan, Andrew Heller, Sarah Hooey, Lois Hur, Ethan Kim, Jason Lan, Michelle Li, Laurence Lu, Samantha Ng, Ishaan Patel, Cody Phung, Elizabeth Ruggiero, Esha Sharma, Ryan Sung, Kai Wang, Kevin Wei, Ziqi Yuan, Andy Zhang and Lingfei Zhao.
These students are among 34,000 of the high scorers on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. They represent the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 NMSC competition and will receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.