Return to Headlines

Sabrina Eager and Michael Wang 2019 National Merit Scholarship Award Recipients

Syosset High School students Sabrina Eager and Michael Wang are recipients of the 2019 National Merit $2500 Scholarship award. They will each receive a $2,500 scholarship in recognition of their academic and personal achievements. They were selected from a pool of more than 15,000 Finalists nationwide in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.


Approximately 1.6 million students enter the competition annually. This year, 31 Syosset High School students were named Commended Students, 10 were named Semifinalists and 9 were named Finalists.  Students initially qualify for the competition by scoring among the highest in the state on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors were named Semifinalists on a state-representational basis.


The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition that began in 1955. Students are judged on academic achievement, standardized test scores, contributions in school and community activities and potential for success in rigorous college studies. Students are also required to submit an essay and a recommendation from a high school official. Approximately 7,600 Finalists will earn the “Merit Scholar” title in 2019 and receive a total of over $31 million in college scholarships.