A Night to Honor Commitment and Dedication to Syosset Central School District

A Night to Honor Commitment and Dedication to Syosset Central School District photo

The Syosset CSD recently honored its silver anniversary staff members and retirees for the 2017-18 school year during the annual District Reception held in the Syosset High School auxiliary gymnasium.

Board of Education members and close colleagues shared memories and stories of each honoree, highlighting the individual’s years of outstanding service and dedication to the children of Syosset. Each honoree was also presented with a special certificate of appreciation.

Master of Ceremonies, Syosset High School Principal Dr. John Durante, remarked that in Syosset, “we are a part of something that is so much larger than all of us. We take pride in knowing we are making a great place even better. All of the award recipients have made Syosset a better place.”

Superintendent Dr. Thomas Rogers commented that the Syosset District is “an organization that feels like a family,” as he noted former employees that had come back to honor their former colleagues. He stated that the retirees “set the bar incredibly high, creating a standard that has made Syosset an extraordinary school district.” Dr. Rogers congratulated H.B. Thompson principal James Kassebaum on his retirement, calling him “a leader of leaders” and stating the District will be losing a role model. 

Attendees at the event were treated to a performance by the Syosset High School Chamber Orchestra, as well as a solo performance on piano by Syosset High School student Siyu Yang, who earned a standing ovation from the impressed audience.  

Ann Anderson – Syosset High School
Doris Caifa – Robbins Lane Elementary School
Kevin Cooley - Facilities
Diane Crosby - Syosset High School 
Nellie Egrie – SHS Continuing Education
Walter Enfield – Village Elementary School
Joyce Ettinger – Robbins Lane Elementary School
Daniel Goldbeck - Syosset High School
Sally Hawkins – A.P. Willits Elementary School
Sandra Hoffman – Berry Hill Elementary School
Tania Johnson – H.B. Thompson Middle School
James Kassebaum – H.B. Thompson Middle School
Margaret Liss – A.P. Willits Elementary School
Jacqueline Lucci – H.B. Thompson Middle School 
Jessica Mack – District Occupational Therapist
Timothy Mendolia - Syosset High School

Katherine Balnis – South Grove Elementary School
Marnie Cole-Swirsky – Village Elementary School
Christine DeStefanis – South Grove Elementary School
Michael Dolley – Syosset High School
Susan Dolley – H.B. Thompson Middle School
Sandra Hoffman – Berry Hill Elementary School 
Bonnie Honya – Syosset High School
Maureen O’Connor – Berry Hill Elementary
Wendy Tepper – Village Elementary School
Alison Zorn – A.P. Willits Elementary School 

Congratulations to all and thank you for your years of service and dedication to the Syosset Central School District!