Assistant Principal named NBSLS Administrator of the Year

Assistant Principal named NBSLS Administrator of the Year photo
Congratulations to Syosset High School Assistant Principal David Steinberg, who has been named the Nassau BOCES School Library System Administrator of the Year. NBSLS established the award to honor educational administrators in Nassau County who have made a significant contribution to school librarianship.

The award specifically honors administrators who foster growth of school library media specialists; exhibit great educational leadership, professionalism, and a strong understanding of current practices and future trends, while working toward implementing these practices; and seek funding to improve library programs.

“In less than one year in his role as our high school library department coordinator, David Steinberg has transformed our program,” said Syosset High School Library Media Specialist Sarah Wasser, who nominated Steinberg for the award on behalf of the school. “He understands that the school library and librarians play an integral role in advancing education to meet the ever-changing world in which we live.” 

Steinberg is being recognized for his support of the Syosset High School library staff and his leadership in ensuring the library remains a key resource for research and learning in all areas of the curriculum. This includes overseeing the integration of new technology and empowering library staff with sufficient training and tools to best guide students through their learning, while also assisting students in navigating the library and the rich amount of information available to them. Additionally, Steinberg and the library staff have been influential in promoting the library as an environment where student collaboration – as well as teacher collaboration – comes naturally. 

A committee comprised of NBSLS Program Supervisor Donna Rosenblum, Director of the School Library Media Program at LIU Post Dr. Bea Baaden and several library media specialists in Nassau County selected Steinberg for the award. He was recently honored at the May 16 NBSLS meeting, where a brief reception was held. 

“I am grateful to have been recognized by our dynamic and innovative team of library media specialists with the NBSLS Administrator of the Year Award,” Steinberg said. “Over the course of the year, they have embraced the challenge of reimagining their roles and the library’s physical space. Their work has culminated in enhanced supports for all learners – students, teachers and administrators – and in a mindset that will ensure a continuous improvement cycle. This award represents our collective work as a team and I look forward to our future work.”

Steinberg is pictured here with library staff members: from left, Ann Anderson, Lynn Ortlieb, Dave Steinberg, Sarah Wasser and Bonnie Davies.