Syosset Has 41 NYSSMA All-State Selections

Syosset Has 41 NYSSMA All-State Selections picture
South Woods MS Student Selected for Piano Showcase

Syosset School District Coordinator of Fine and Performing Arts, K-12, Michael Salzman is proud to announce that 36 Syosset High School student-musicians have received 41 All-State acceptances or have been named as 2017 All-State Alternates.  The students selected to perform will do so at this year’s New York State School Music Association Winter Conference.  Syosset’s selections include three students who were accepted on two different instruments and one who was chosen for three instruments. 

“As the NYSSMA scores came in last spring, I knew that the All State numbers would be high this year,” said Salzman. “But I never expected [it to be] higher than 40. This is an incredible number of students to be recognized for their outstanding musical achievement!” Syosset High School regularly receives a high number of NYSSMA Winter Conference selections, often finishing with the most in the state. 

Additionally, Salzman announced that Christopher Zandieh, an eighth grader at South Woods Middle School, has been selected to perform in the 12th Annual NYSSMA Piano showcase to be held in conjunction with the winter conference, which will be held from Nov. 30-Dec. 3 at the Rochester Convention Center. Christopher was one of 12 winners selected from the 98 applicants. Each of the applicants earned a perfect score of 100 on a Level VI solo at last spring’s solo festivals. They then had to perform their solo piece from memory and submit a recording, which was evaluated by a committee this summer.
“Kudos to Christopher and his outstanding music teachers on this wonderful accomplishment,” added Salzman.
Congratulations to Syosset High School’s 2017 NYSSMA All-State Musicians: Sami Ahn, Matthew Ardizzone, Stephanie Benedictus, Gabrielle Bieder, Sydney Chen, Josephine Chuang, Sean Han, Allison Hsu, Susanna Hur, Maxwell Izakson, Brandon Ji, Jihoon Jun, Paige Kahn, Joseph Kim, Anthony LaBarca, Thomas Lam, Hannah Lee, Subin Lee, Justin Lee, Annie Lin, Kalena Liu, Nicholas Massimo, Gabriela Mataras, Ashkan Moghaddassi, Victoria Morin, Aileen Park, Jake Quadrino, Harrison Rubin, Madison Schatz, Albert Shabaev, Brandon Sung, Callista Tse, Michael Wang, Derek Warshauer, Emily Wong and Charles, Zandieh.