South Woods Spanish 8 students  were recognized for their performance on the 2017  National  Spanish Exam.   They competed  along with other middle school students from across the country.  The National Spanish Examinations are administered each year in grades 6 through 12, and are sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.
In total, 37 students participated, 11 of whom were medal winners and 12 other students received honorable mention.  Three students earned  a gold medal for their achievement, six students were awarded the silver and two received bronze.  “Attaining a medal or honorable mention for any student on the National Spanish Examinations is very prestigious,” said Kevin Cessna-Buscemi, National Director of the Exams, “because the exams are the largest of their kind in the United States with over 157,000 students participating in 2017.”
An awards ceremony  in honor of the three gold medal recipients  was held on June 8 at Great Neck South High School, courtesy of the Long Island Chapter of the AATSP.  We appreciate the effort of this professional organization in coordinating and hosting this special evening for students.  Many other schools from across Nassau and Suffolk counties were in attendance.  South Woods students received certificates, medals and cash awards in recognition of their outstanding effort.  We thank all students for their participation and encourage them to continue to engage their language skills in the future.
Gold Medal:  Claudia Azevedo, Michael Kopacz, Joshua Yun
Silver Medal:  Sukey Chin, Constantina Economou, Ruhan Hossain, Zachary Levine, Jacob Rosenberg, Aki Tsadilas
Bronze Medal:  Aaron Hafkin, Jared Hyman
Honorable Mention:  Eesha Alladin, Emily Chen, Alex Cleary, Uma Kaushik, Julia Lin, Ethan Liu,  Ryan Meltzer, Lauren Metzner, Parker Needleman, Kevin Wang, Julia Warshauer, Melina Ziambras
Participants:  Brendan Brotman, Emma Chang, Luc Epstein, Dylan Forrest, Dylan Fried, Harrison Goldberg, Claire Moore, Danielle Perlowitz, Nicholas Reis, Keya Shah, Dylan Siegel, Gabe Staiano, Patrick Yan, Vivi Yun