A Tribute to Excellence and Show of Admiration

A Tribute to Excellence and Show of Admiration Photo

The Syosset CSD recently honored its silver anniversary staff members and retirees for the 2016-17 school year during the annual District Reception held in the Syosset High School auxiliary gymnasium.

A close colleague of each honoree shared kind words regarding the individual’s years of outstanding service and dedication to the children of Syosset. Introductions were followed by a certificate presentation by a member of the Board of Education.

This year’s group of honorees included educators and support personnel, with the largest representation of retirees from Harry B. Thompson Middle School. Appropriately, Principal James Kassebaum gave the most tributes and prior to introducing his last retiring staff member joked, “We are clearing out the building.”

In addition to awarding certificates of recognition to retiring staff members, Board of Education President Dr. Michael Cohen took a moment to recognize two retiring Board members: April Neuendorf and Laura Schlesinger.

During his welcoming remarks, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Tom Rogers drew attention to the District Reception program, which was designed by Syosset High School student Nicolette Camardi. Dr. Rogers called it a “wonderful metaphor” for the evening, as it met all of the criteria as a tribute, celebration and show of admiration, also noting that every advertising design student who submitted a program for consideration treated the task with professionalism, a characteristic indicative of the staff being honored.    

“When you do your work well as an educator, it goes far beyond the four walls of the school,” said Deputy Superintendent and master of ceremonies Adele Bovard in her remarks to the honorees. “You have truly impacted generations of this community for good as they have passed through the schoolhouse. Thank you all so much.”

Gerri Alper – Administrative Assistant, Syosset High School
Annemarie Bartkowski – Nurse, Syosset High School
Adele Diamond – Business Dept., H.B. Thompson Middle School
Maureen Franklin – Clerk/Typist, Business Office
Susan Geller – Elementary Education, Village School
Pamela Harris – Art, H.B. Thompson Middle School
Anna M. Kissell – Stenographic Secretary, Business Office
Catherine Longmore – Coordinator of English, Syosset High School
Elizabeth Mayer – Library Media Specialist, H.B. Thompson Middle School  
Lisa Nivin – Special Education, Village School
Gracie Panousis – English, Syosset High School
Bridget Perlmutter – Elementary Education, South Grove School
Jeanine Qualliotine – Special Education, Syosset High School
Alan Rubinstein – Music, South Woods Middle School
Jean Smith – English, H.B. Thompson Middle School
Cathy Strauss – Registered Professional Nurse, Baylis School
Sara Tyson – Senior Typist Clerk, South Grove School

Michael Cascone – Math, Syosset High School
Darlene Darress – Music, H.B. Thompson Middle School
Neil Muccio – Science, Syosset High School
Dean Strohmayer – Physical Education, Syosset High School

Congratulations to all!