23 Named National Merit Commended Students

The Syosset Central School District is pleased to announce that 23 Syosset High School seniors have been named Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.
Congratulations to Lauren Burdge, Zhiyao Cai, Rohan Chandakkar, Sahil Chaudhry, Emily Chen, Maximillian Chen, Derrick Choi, Maya Chopra, Emily Dai, Mohamed El-Abtah, Amy Eng, Sophia Henn, Tierney Latham, Branden Lee, Megan Lucks, Rushabh Mehta, Nikhil Saggi, Richard Tang, David Wang, Brandon J. Wong, Brandon Z. Wong, Yichen Xu and Kevin Zhang.
These students are among 34,000 of the high scorers on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test taken in 2015. They represent the top 5 percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2017 NMSC competition and will receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.
Commended Students are congratulated here, with some displaying their NMSC Letters of Commendation, by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Thomas Rogers (front row, far left), Syosset High School Principal Dr. Giovanni Durante (front row, far right) and Assistant Principal Christopher Ruffini (second row, far left).