14 National Merit Semifinalists

The district is pleased to announce that 14 Syosset High School seniors have been named National Merit semifinalists.

Congratulations to Sarina Awatramani, Michelle Gery, Jared Goff, Andrea He, Philip Jang, Eugene Kim, Natalie Lo, Jessica Page, Janvi Pamnani, Ben Rhee, Yash Samantaray, Sabrina Sussman, Jonah Wu and Michael Ye.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation awarded this distinction to approximately 16,000 high school students nationwide. The semifinalists have qualified to compete for approximately 7,500 National Merit scholarships worth more than $33 million. Finalists will be announced in February 2017, with the winners to be named in the spring.

Syosset’s 14 semifinalists qualified by scoring among the highest in the state on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in 2015, including the top 1 percent nationally.

“The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced that approximately 16,000 semifinalists representing less than 1% of the 12th graders from throughout the United States received this honor and Syosset High School had 14 recipients,” said Principal Dr. Giovanni Durante. “We are very proud of these students and their incredible academic achievements and wish them continued success in their futures.”

Assistant Principal Christopher Ruffini, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Thomas Rogers and Dr. Durante are pictured in the back row congratulating the semifinalists.